A child has not begun his education until he has acquired the habit of reading to himself,
with interest and pleasure, books fully on a level with his intelligence.
~ Charlotte Mason

Classical Education
The Trivium


The modern proponent of the Classical Approach was British writer and medieval scholar Dorothy Sayers. As the Nazis rose to power in the 1930s, Sayers warned that schools were teaching children everything except how to think. Because young adults could no longer think for themselves, Sayers felt they could be easily influenced by tyrants. To remedy this, Sayers proposed reinstating the classical form of education used in the Middle Ages.

In the Classical Approach, children under age 18 are taught tools of learning collectively known as The Trivium. The Trivium has three parts, each part corresponding to a childhood developmental stage.

Three stages / The Trivium: 
(1)  Grammar Stage – K-6                     
- Early Elementary age
- Obtain a knowledge of the facts  (Greek and Latin Grammar)
- Focuses on reading, writing and spellling
- The goal of this stage is to develop a general framework of knowledge and to acquire basic language arts and math skills.
(2)  Dialectic / Logic Stage – 6-9                       
- Middle School age
- Develop skills necessary to arrange those facts into arguments
- Teaching logical discussion, debate, and how to draw correct conclusions and support them with facts.  
- The goal of the Dialectic Stage is to equip the child with language and thinking skills capable of detecting fallacies in an argument.
- Latin study is continued, with the possible addition of Greek and Hebrew. The student reads essays, arguments and criticisms instead of literature as in the Grammar Stage. History study leans toward interpreting events. Higher math and theology begin.          

            (3)  Rhetoric Stage – 9-12                                                
- Develop the skill of communicating those arguments to others
- Use language, both written and spoken, eloquently and persuasively. Students are usually ready for this stage by age 15.

Blue Flourish

Homeschool Curriculums that follow the
Classical Approach

Comments & Reviews


Story of the World - A History Curriculum for the Classical Educated Child 4 Volumes
with Activity Books
* Tells the "Story" of the world from the time of the nomads to the modern 20th century in a narrative tone.
* Some of the chronology is out of order
* Some users of these books comment that the books cater too much to a secular world view.
* Much of the Bible history is left out
* Mystery of History is preferred above SOTW


Additional Resources

The Well Trained Mind - by Susan Wise Bauer and Jesse Wise

Peace Hill Press - books for a Well Trained Mind

Story of the World - History for the Classical Educated Child








The Homeschool Hearth










Home | Contact Us | Linking to Us | Advertise | Copyright Policy | Terms of Use | Privacy | Sitemap

Copyright © 2009 Riette Sinclair (The Homeschool Hearth), All rights reserved.